Red Bull GRC Los Angeles: Supercar Round 12 Recap

IN BRIEF: It was a dream weekend for Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross, as Scott Speed locked up his third consecutive Supercar championship while Tanner Foust took the race victory at Red Bull Global Rallycross Los Angeles. It was Foust’s first win in seven tries at the Port of Los Angeles, and his third victory in a row.

HEAT RECAPS: After taking pole on Friday afternoon, Foust swept all three of his heats and won his semifinal to preserve the inside of the front row for the final. Patrik Sandell, Steve Arpin, and Austin Dyne won the other three heats on offer, while Scott Speed fought past Sandell to win the second semifinal.

MAIN EVENT RECAP: With his championship hopes still alive entering the final, Foust did everything he could to win the title. A perfect start enabled him to lead from flag to flag, leaving the rest of the field in his dust as he finished the perfect 81-point weekend off in style.

Speed, meanwhile, had to take second place the hard way after losing positions to both Sandell and Cabot Bigham in the final. As the laps wound down, he managed to fight his way back around both, returning to the runner-up position where he started the event. Making it back to a podium position enabled him to lock up the championship by 19 points over Foust.

RESULTS: Supercar results from Red Bull GRC Los Angeles are as follows:

  1. Tanner Foust, #34 Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross
  2. Scott Speed, #41 Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross
  3. Patrik Sandell, #18 Subaru Rally Team USA
  4. Cabot Bigham, #2 Bryan Herta Rallysport
  5. Steve Arpin, #00 Loenbro Motorsports
  6. Mitchell deJong, #24 Honda Red Bull Olsbergs MSE
  7. Sebastian Eriksson, #93 Honda Red Bull Olsbergs MSE
  8. Austin Dyne, #14 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
  9. Chris Atkinson, #55 Subaru Rally Team USA
  10. Oliver Eriksson, #16 Honda Red Bull Olsbergs MSE

QUOTES: Driver quotes from Red Bull GRC Los Angeles:

Tanner Foust, #34 Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross: “We snuck qualifying away from Scott, and then there was a little glimmer of hope in the heats. Scott had a little bit of trouble, and coming into the final we had a chance to win if Scott was worse than eighth. It’s a big gap, but I was feeling it, and the whole team was hungry for that. But I’m so happy for our team—we had a tough Atlantic City, but since then we’ve won everything we’ve driven up to the line to do, and that’s not easy in this group. Hopefully we’re going to carry some of that for next year!”

Scott Speed, #41 Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross: “The whole week leading up to the race, it was just constantly thinking of the what-ifs, all of the problems that could happen going in with such a big lead. My hat is off to everyone—I have the best team out here. I’m so lucky for them, and we have great partners. It was a team effort!”

Patrik Sandell, #18 Subaru Rally Team USA: “What an awesome way to finish my first season with Subaru. I’m so happy and pleased with the progress we’ve made this season. I would also like to give a special thanks to all Subaru fans out there, I couldn’t do it without you guys!”

FAST FACTS: Key statistics from Red Bull GRC Los Angeles:

  • Tanner Foust earned his fifth victory of the 2017 Red Bull Global Rallycross season, and the 16th of his career, on Saturday at the Port of Los Angeles. With the triumph, Foust tied the single-season Supercar wins record, and broke a tie for first place atop the all-time wins chart. He also set a personal best with 28 heat and semifinal victories in 2017, one more than last year.
  • Scott Speed’s runner-up finish was his record-setting 11th podium of the 2017 Red Bull GRC season, enabling him to clinch his third consecutive Supercar championship. Speed entered Saturday’s final needing only to finish eighth place or better to earn the crown.
  • Patrik Sandell earned his third podium since joining Subaru Rally Team USA, and the third in his last five races, by finishing third on Saturday. Sandell has earned a podium at the Port of Los Angeles in each of the past three years.
  • Cabot Bigham’s fourth place finish was the best of his Red Bull GRC Supercar career. Bigham’s last start at this venue was a GRC Lites victory last October, which enabled him to clinch the 2016 Lites title.
  • Steve Arpin’s fifth place finish enabled him to clinch third in the championship, a career-best result in the final standings. Arpin also added a personal-best ninth heat victory of the year.
  • Volkswagen set a Red Bull GRC record with nine race victories in a single season on the way to its second consecutive Manufacturer’s Championship. The manufacturer also scored 19 podiums and 57 heat or semifinal victories during the season.


  1. Scott Speed, 826
  2. Tanner Foust, 807
  3. Steve Arpin, 743
  4. Sebastian Eriksson, 651
  5. Mitchell deJong, 640
  6. Oliver Eriksson, 601
  7. Chris Atkinson, 585
  8. Patrik Sandell, 582
  9. Austin Dyne, 562
  10. Cabot Bigham, 473
  11. Austin Cindric, 102


  1. Volkswagen, 59
  2. Honda, 44
  3. Subaru, 41